top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn Harville

No More


Amos 5:24

Part of me really doesn't want to write this post. Part of me, the part that hates confrontation, thinks that it would be a post better left in the "drafts" portion of my writings. But I'm coming to realize that simply holding my convictions isn't enough. I am burdened with the responsibility to act on them. So consider this my first step in doing so.


Let me say it plainly: Black Lives Matter.


I know, I know. That has a lot of you already rising up to defend the position that "All Lives Matter." Frankly, I'm not here to debate that. What I am here to say is that there are people, brothers and sisters of mine and yours, that are hurting. They are crying out for us to hear their pain from years upon years of oppression and heartache and suffering. They are telling us that they can't breathe. And I cannot, will not, continue to close my ears to their cries.


I have been silent. I thought I was being kind. I thought I was being loving toward people who disagreed with me. But I have since come to see that through my silence, I have been a part of the problem. I have played into a system that has taken advantage of my sisters' and brothers' brownness and blackness. My silence has allowed racism to continue to flourish in spaces where I could have stood up. I have not listened to those in my circle of friends who have experienced acts of racism that I will never be able to comprehend. I have been passive and have allowed slurs to be spoken unchecked in my presence. I have been afraid of confrontation, cowering behind my own privilege.


No more.


I will no longer be silent when there is a chance for me to speak up on behalf of oppressed peoples. And I will no longer shut down the opportunity for them to speak to me about their pain. I will listen to my black sisters and brothers and their truth about their experiences. I will speak when my privilege provides me a platform. I will march alongside my brothers and sisters, knowing that there is work to be done. And one day, one glorious day, we will see justice roll down like waters.


My prayer, dear friends, is that you too will pledge yourselves to the work of justice and righteousness. But if you are like me, you may find the task ahead a daunting one. How do you stand up as one person in the midst of age-old oppression and deep-seated hatred and contempt? How do you make a difference? I believe that the prophets of the Bible hold a wonderful example for us.


Perhaps, when you think of the Old Testament prophets, you think of them as people who predicted the coming of Jesus. I believe that the prophets, in their original contexts, have so much more to teach us. Prophecy is not about prediction. Instead, the context for the biblical prophets suggests something far more. Their main message seems to me to be threefold.


First of all, the prophets remind us of our past. They recount history, always through the lens of what God has done for the people of God. This serves to remind the prophet's audience of where they have come from, and this in turn serves to humble them. For the people of Israel and Judah, they were to remember that they were a people freed from the bonds of slavery. They were reminded through the prophets that they were not a proud people, but a people redeemed through the acts of a mighty God. The prophets of old would tell us today that we cannot look forward to our future without first looking back to our past. For American society, we must face the fact that our country was built on the backs of People of Color. We must come face to face with the history of slavery and segregation and lynching. We must face the ugly truth of the systemic racism that has permeated our society for so long. We will never be able to move forward if we do not first look back, remember, and truly see our history as oppressors. So a practical step is to educate yourself about racial history. Read books from black authors who describe black experience in this country.


Secondly, the prophets used their platforms to speak out as advocates for some of the most vulnerable people in society. They knew that they had been given both a gift and a responsibility. It was a charge, a calling, to speak out for those who were unable to speak for themselves. In the Old Testament those people included the widows and orphans and foreigners of the land. Today, I believe this aspect of prophetic message still rings true. We white Americans are given both the gift and responsibility of speaking up and acting. We are each given a platform on which to speak out against the systems that cause such suffering for our black sisters and brothers. We can be advocates for those who have historically been some of the most vulnerable people in our American society. We can stand to build bridges between alienated peoples where there had previously only been walls. Practically, this means speaking up when you see the injustices done against black bodies. This means using your platform on social media, yes, but also in daily conversation. It's not enough to just post a blacked out profile picture if you are not also speaking up on behalf of black neighbors.


Lastly, and perhaps most importantly, the prophets teach us to stand and to speak Truth to the powers that be. Some of the main points of the Old Testament prophetic messages were points calling out the kings and religious leaders of Israel and Judah. Those who used their power in corrupt ways were called out and demands were placed on them to act in ways that reflect the righteousness of God. Justice is required. God is a God of wholeness, and when there is brokenness God seeks to restore what has been shattered. In American society, it is evident that there is brokenness in our relationships. Racism has festered for far too long. God seeks to bring justice for the oppressed. God seeks wholeness in the dealings of the Body of Christ among its members. And God seeks to see the beauty of every person not only recognized but celebrated. Speaking truth to power is difficult, but possible. One of the best ways to do this in American society is to use your vote to elect candidates who promote equity and equality. And when elected officials mess this up, call them out. Research and find out ways to contact your elected officials. Make your voice heard.


The Old Testament prophets teach us much about standing up when there is oppression and injustice. I pray we listen. The artist Macklemore put out a song entitled "White Privilege II." I'd like to pass along some lines from that song.


"It seems like we are more concerned with being called racist

than we actually are with racism

I've heard that silences are action, and God knows that I've been passive

What if I actually read an article, actually had a dialogue

Actually looked at myself, actually got involved?"


No more. No more silence. No more passivity. No more turning a blind eye.


To my black sisters and brothers, I am sorry for the role I have played in your pain. I was ignorant and I allowed myself to stay that way for far too long. I am asking your forgiveness.


To my white sisters and brothers, it's time. Past time. We must stand with those who are oppressed. We must own our faults and we must repent of our actions and indifferences. I pray that we open our eyes and keep them open. I pray we follow the example of the prophets. And I pray that we learn how to comfort the afflicted while we stand up and call out the comfortable.

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

i am

bottom of page